top of page

Alice in Wonderland

Alice in Wonderland. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Alice's Adventures Underground. Alice has been a favourite fictional character of mine since I first ever sat down at primary school and read the book to myself in the library. I was also of the era that was raised on the original Disney films, Alice in Wonderland being no exception. The colours and the strange characters that she meets used to make me so happy and amazed. Throughout time it has been annotated and people have tried to understand and publish multiple meanings behind what was going through Lewis Caroll's mind. But what I think is beautiful is leaving it be and letting us each having our own interpretation in our minds. Another important connection that people have made are the possible references to much more adult themes throughout. To be specific, the connection with alcohol and substance abuse. This was something that I had wanted to play on for years but had not felt I was capable of pulling off exactly what was in my head. Using the phrases "EAT ME" & "DRINK ME" as the key points throughout, I focused on how easy it is to be swayed nowadays by appealing looking chemicals. Having experienced addiction from a very young age this was a very compelling way of being able to put those wrongs right and say goodbye to those demons forever.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page