top of page

The Tooth Fairy

The tooth fairy is an interesting one for me. I know she is not technically classed as a faiytale and actually falls under folklore, but I couldn't miss her out of this line up. As a child, as previously mentioned, I had such a strange curiosity with fairies in general but espeically with the tooth fairy. I was absolutely convinved, until about the age of 10, that she existed. My mum was amazing at keeping my passion for it alive by leaving me notes from the fairies. At primary school we took part in a county-wide competition amongst loads of schools which entailed answering the phrase "love is..." . For my entry I answered "...when you love the tooth fairy", accompanied by a cute but awful drawing of the tooth fairy. Low and behold I won the entire competition and I remember the teachers thinking how wonderful my answer had been. As I've grown up I still find fairies fascinating and mythological creatures in general, but am particularly interested in the gruesome and horror inspired interpretations I have seen created of fairies. Films like Hellboy 2, Labrynth and Maleficent are great examples. It's a twisted character that I don't feel has been done much in entertainment history and I wanted to try it out for myself. Combining my love for the gothic and alternative scene and aesthetic, as well as horror and juxtaposition characters, I chose to create a version of the tooth fairy that shows her darker side. A side that showcases how addicted to her job she has become, stealing teeth from children and collecting them in her lair.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page